My Rainbow

“Spinning,”  that’s how I describe those moments when I feel as though my plate is so full that I don’t know where to start so I end up doing nothing at all.  Most of the time I ride it out, but sometimes I call someone.  Usually that someone is one of my parents.

“Is it crazy that I am in my late 30’s, still emotionally lean on my parents, and still frequently call them for advice?”  I asked a wise person at my current school

“I called mine until they were gone.  I miss them, and I miss doing so all time.”  Just the words I needed to hear.

I called my Dad Sunday.  I was spinning, and decided to take a walk.  I talked with him the entire time.  Every once in a while I would tell him to “hold on” while I paused and took a picture of a flower.  Dad made me feel better.  He usually does.  He balanced his loving words with “suck it up” pep talks, guiding our conversation in a way that only someone who truly knows you can.  He put into perspective what felt overwhelming, yet comforted me and validated my feelings.

When I returned home, I looked back at my photos.  I had a rainbow.  A rainbow, a dispersion of light (hope) in water droplets (all of that heavy spinning stuff) resulting in a spectrum of light, a rainbow.

Thank you Dad for being my light.  You make rainbows at a time when the “water droplets” of life are lading a little harder in my world.

8 thoughts on “My Rainbow

  1. Keep asking and keep listening. My dad is deceased and my mom has dementia. I miss being able to pick up the phone and asking for her advice, or just having her tell me things will be OK.

    Like

  2. This is such a beautiful post! It’s totally normal to still need your parents…I do, too! And you know what? I think you’ve learned a lot from your dad. You’ve given me some really great advice and pep talks! I appreciate you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

