Far From Mommy

Her legs wrapped around my waist like a chimpanzee baby, the tearful four year old student waved goodbye to her mother.

“Ms. Lauren, I miss Mommy.  Do you miss your mommy?”  

I explained to her that my mom lives far, far away and that I miss her each and every day.

“Yeah, my grandparents live in America!” my son confirmed.  

“Why?”  She clearly could not understand why we would live so far from my mother (and the rest of my family).  

Good question, kid.  It’s one that I have asked myself many times, one I wrestle with frequently yet I always arrive at the same conclusion: I became involved with international teaching based on circumstance, but it is now something that I do by choice.  It is a way of life that immerses us in the global community, a life that teaches my two children to embrace diversity, where they look at the commonalities between their peers rather that the differences.  Where I can send them to a school with small class sizes, a diverse student body, and a meaningful curriculum.  Where teachers are provided with the resources and tools necessary to deliver a rich curriculum while being supported by personnel and administration.  It is a career path that has allowed me to pursue my passion of teaching, and provides me with a salary which allows this single mother to comfortably live a life that opens the eyes of my children, and hopefully doors in their future.

“I get to see my mommy every Christmas and summer,” I assured the teary girl.  She gave a nod of approval.  For today, this answer would do, and for now I have peace in the choices I am making to not see my mommy every day.  My life-story may not be the one I had once pictured but I am choosing to jump head first in the direction it has taken me.  

12 thoughts on “Far From Mommy

  1. Loved the picture of the four year old with her legs around you. I think they ask such heartfelt questions that make us ponder the many choices we make in our lives. International teaching sounds amazing, something I have pondered and I agree, your children are getting an experience of a life-time. Sometimes living in the same country, we still don’t get see our mommies as often as we like.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are so right! Thank you for your comment. Kids have the ability to ask questions that are simple, yet so very important to answer and analyze.

      I find that my time with family is rich, intentional, and may be more quality time than I would get if I lived in the same time. Not to say that there aren’t times when I would give my right arm for a cuddle and a cup of coffee with my parents and/or sister!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your last sentence! I have been thinking about this idea a lot lately, that just because life isn’t what we planned (since it never is) doesn’t mean it can’t be wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for that thought, Tani. It’s always nice to encounter the perspectives of others who are pondering the same thoughts. I recently had someone say, “life right now just sucks.” Nope, I choose to disagree. Life is what we choose to do with the cards we are dealt. You are so very right, it does NOT mean it can’t be wonderful.

      Like

  3. Love how your small moment with your student segued into a personal reflection. You are giving your children a gift that they will always appreciate and that makes them better people. You’re super mom! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

